Betting Talk

WTF? Brazilian soccer ref pulls gun out on field VIDEO

Jake T.Jake T. Senior Member
edited September 2015 in Sports Betting
A Brazilian soccer referee is facing disciplinary action for pulling a gun on the field during a red card dispute. Gabriel Murta was officiating an amateur game between Brumadinho and Amantes da Bola when tempers flared on the field following a red card. The referee was reportedly kicked and punched by a player from Amantes da Bola, which led to him brandishing the weapon.

Murta is a police officer by profession according to The Guardian, which explains why he owns a handgun, but not why he had it on the field. A representative from the referee's association in Brazil stated that Muta felt threatened, but an inquiry is underway.

Amateur soccer in Brazil is no stranger to violence. In 2013 a referee was killed and beheaded by fans as retaliation after an altercation with a player led to the referee stabbing the player to death.

<iframe src="https://embed.theguardian.com/embed/video/sport/video/2015/sep/29/referee-pulls-out-gun-during-brazilian-football-match-video"; width="560" height="315" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Comments

• TortugaTortuga Moderator
    edited September 2015
    Jake T. wrote: »
    A Brazilian soccer referee is facing disciplinary action for pulling a gun on the field during a red card dispute.

Just disciplinary action? Hopefully they mean no longer allowed to officiate.
  • Obi OneObi One Senior Member
    edited September 2015
    Tortuga wrote: »
    Just disciplinary action? Hopefully they mean no longer allowed to officiate.

This clearly shows a misunderstanding of a different culture,